The former lakefront power plant site
What the public record documents about this place, what it does not, and where each fact comes from. Four questions first, then the land, the dated events, the salient figures, and the stages the archive can and cannot show.
| Question | What the record documents | State | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| What has been proposed? | A mixed-use redevelopment of the former power plant site, proposed by its owner of record, Avon Lake Environmental Redevelopment Group LLC, with the city to acquire about 23.22 acres of the 43.23-acre lakefront property for a public park. The city's press release of October 8, 2024 put the planned land purchase at $15 million, to be paid from tax increment financing revenue. No developer, final development plan, or construction record is in this archive. | Proposed | R15695302 ↗ |
| What has actually been approved? | Council has passed, each on a recorded roll-call read from the stored minutes: an interim development agreement for the former power plant site (Ordinance 24-143, November 12, 2024); a real estate purchase agreement for about 23 acres (Ordinance 25-167, November 24, 2025); an application for a state brownfield assessment grant (Resolution 25-182, November 24, 2025); the Lakefront Mixed-Use Overlay District code chapter (Ordinance 26-36, May 18, 2026); and the rezoning of the 43.23-acre site north of Lake Road to Special Commerce District (Ordinance 26-37, May 18, 2026). An approved agreement is not a completed purchase, and an approved application is not an award. No tax increment financing ordinance for the site, no closing on the 23-acre purchase, and no school-district approval of the financing is in this archive. | Approved | R728468 ↗ |
| Which land is involved? | Four county parcels, all drawn from the county parcel generation published July 28, 2026 and recorded there as class Commercial, land use Utility: 04-00-005-000-103 (about 47 acres by county geometry, on Walker Road), 04-00-006-101-085 (about 40 acres, the generating-plant parcel), and the two small lakefront parcels 04-00-006-101-023 and 04-00-006-101-022 (about 1.1 and 0.7 acres). The 43.23-acre property named in the 2026 rezoning ordinance is 101-085 with 101-023 and 101-022; the Walker Road parcel is not part of that figure. The 2021 conveyance that brought the property to its owner of record moved seven parcels, four of them on this page. Two of the other three were sold to the city for Avon Lake Regional Water in 2024 (Ordinance 24-28, auditor conveyance 2024092867) and retired by the auditor in 2026; they are not in the county parcel generation, are not part of the site the 2026 legislation defines, and are not parcels of this page. That sale is documented in the investigation's legislation and transfer registers, not by a receipt on this page. | Recorded | R6331989 ↗ |
| Which records establish this? | County auditor transfer records (the tax-year 2021 general warranty deed recorded October 24, 2022 as conveyance 2022094719 for all four parcels, and a 2007 record for the two small lakefront parcels), the county GIS parcel generation published July 28, 2026, five council actions read from stored legislation with roll-calls in the stored council minutes (2024 to 2026), the city's press release of October 8, 2024, the FEMA flood layer as stored, three figures already attested on the case page (the total acreage, the park acreage, and the planned purchase price), and, for the city and county scopes only, figures already pinned on this site's council and environment briefs. Every sentence on this page points at one of those records, at an attested figure with a named source, or at a pinned brief; the FEMA layer, the attested figures, and the pinned briefs are shown as identities without a public link. | Recorded | R6331989 ↗ · List ↓ |
Where it is
- 04-00-005-000-103 · utility · drawn from county GIS
- 04-00-006-101-085 · utility · drawn from county GIS
- 04-00-006-101-023 · utility · drawn from county GIS
- 04-00-006-101-022 · utility · drawn from county GIS
Proximity is not exposure. A facility inside the 500 m radius is shown with its distance and its source. Nothing here establishes ownership, responsibility, or a health effect.
What happened, in order
-
2007-12-07 · transferConveyance 2007094625 recorded by the county auditor on 2007-12-07 (instrument not stated on the auditor record): parcels 04-00-006-101-022, 04-00-006-101-023. No consideration recorded; the auditor's valid-sale flag is yes.eff 2007-12-07obs 2026-07-12arch 2026-09-09
-
2022-10-24 · transferConveyance 2022094719 recorded by the county auditor on 2022-10-24 (GENERAL WARRANTY DEED) covering 7 parcels, 4 of them on this page: parcels 04-00-005-000-103, 04-00-006-101-022, 04-00-006-101-023, 04-00-006-101-085. No consideration recorded; the auditor's valid-sale flag is no.eff 2022-10-24obs 2026-07-12arch 2026-09-09
-
2024-10-08 · project stageAvon Lake and Power Plant Site Owners Discuss Development Agreement That Includes City Ownership of 23 Acres of Lakefront Landeff 2024-10-08obs 2026-07-15arch 2026-09-09
-
2024-11-12 · decisionORDINANCE NO. 24-143: AN ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO ENTER INTO AN INTERIM DEVELOPMENT AGREEMENT WITH AVON LAKE ENVIRONMENTAL REDEVELOPMENT GROUP AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY.eff 2024-11-12obs 2026-07-10arch 2026-09-09
-
2025-11-24 · decisionRESOLUTION NO. 25-182: A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE CITY OF AVON LAKE TO APPLY FOR AND ADMINISTER A STATE OF OHIO BROWNFIELD REMEDIATION PROGRAM ASSESSMENT GRANT FOR THE FORMER NRG POWER PLANT PROPERTeff 2025-11-24obs 2026-07-10arch 2026-09-09
-
2025-11-24 · decisionORDINANCE NO. 25-167: AN ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO EXECUTE A REAL ESTATE PURCHASE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE CITY OF AVON LAKE AND AVON LAKE ENVIRONMENTAL REDEVELOPMENT GROUP, LLC, FOR THE ACQUISIeff 2025-11-24obs 2026-07-10arch 2026-09-09
-
2026-05-18 · decisionORDINANCE NO. 26-37: AN ORDINANCE REZONING A 43.23-ACRE SITE AT [street number withheld] LAKE ROAD FROM GENERAL INDUSTRIAL (I-2) AND SINGLE-FAMILY RESIDENCE (R-1A) TO SPECIAL COMMERCE DISTRICT (B-3).eff 2026-05-18obs 2026-07-10arch 2026-09-09
-
2026-05-18 · decisionORDINANCE NO. 26-36: AN ORDINANCE ENACTING AVON LAKE CODE OF ORDINANCES CHAPTER 1219: LAKEFRONT MIXED-USE OVERLAY DISTRICT.eff 2026-05-18obs 2026-07-10arch 2026-09-09
-
— · project stageNo delivered record is in this archive.eff unknownobs —arch 2026-09-09None in archive · None in archive
-
— · project stageNo financed record is in this archive.eff unknownobs —arch 2026-09-09None in archive · None in archive
-
— · project stageNo paid record is in this archive.eff unknownobs —arch 2026-09-09None in archive · None in archive
The numbers worth knowing, each with what it does and does not tell you.
Rezoned property, the city's figure
43.23 acres
2026 · attested
Planned park land
23.22 acres
2024 · attested
Planned public purchase
$15,000,000
2024 · attested
Recorded consideration on transfer
$0
2 of 2 recorded conveyances without consideration · 2007–2022 · observed
Flood zone intersection
3 of 4 parcels
4 · current county GIS generation · derived
Facilities within the radius
32 facilities
current county GIS generation · derived
Permits within the radius
4 permits
current county GIS generation · derived
Council matters with a published roll-call
146 matters
through 2026-06-08 · derived
Council matters with an exact declared recusal
1 matters
through 2026-06-08 · derived
County ditch projects in the accepted GIS snapshot
115 projects
as pinned · derived
County drainage features mapped
13809 features
as pinned · derived
This site · Every fact below is scoped to the named parcels. Facts that cannot be computed at another scale say so in place.
- Rezoned property, the city's figure: 43.23 acres
- Planned park land: 23.22 acres
- Planned public purchase: $15,000,000
- Recorded consideration on transfer: $0
- Flood zone intersection: 3 of 4 parcels
- Facilities within the radius: Not computed at this scale: the count is taken over the declared radius, not over the place's own land.
- Permits within the radius: Not computed at this scale: the count is taken over the declared radius, not over the place's own land.
- Council matters with a published roll-call: Not computed at this scale: a city-wide council figure is not a fact about this site's land.
- Council matters with an exact declared recusal: Not computed at this scale: a city-wide council figure is not a fact about this site's land.
- County ditch projects in the accepted GIS snapshot: Not computed at this scale: the county engineer's figure is not scoped below the county; nothing joins it to this site's land.
- County drainage features mapped: Not computed at this scale: the county engineer's figure is not scoped below the county; nothing joins it to this site's land.
Nearby · 500 m · Facts cover the declared radius. Site-only facts are marked not computed at this scale.
- Rezoned property, the city's figure: Not computed at this scale: acreage is summed over the registry parcels; nearby land is not part of the place.
- Planned park land: Not computed at this scale: acreage is summed over the registry parcels; nearby land is not part of the place.
- Planned public purchase: Not computed at this scale: the agreement names land inside the place, not nearby land.
- Recorded consideration on transfer: Not computed at this scale: the deeds name the registry parcels only.
- Flood zone intersection: 3 of 4 parcels
- Facilities within the radius: 32 facilities
- Permits within the radius: 4 permits
- Council matters with a published roll-call: Not computed at this scale: a city-wide council figure is not a fact about the nearby radius.
- Council matters with an exact declared recusal: Not computed at this scale: a city-wide council figure is not a fact about the nearby radius.
- County ditch projects in the accepted GIS snapshot: Not computed at this scale: the county engineer's figure is not scoped below the county; nothing joins it to the nearby radius.
- County drainage features mapped: Not computed at this scale: the county engineer's figure is not scoped below the county; nothing joins it to the nearby radius.
City · City scope reads existing municipal pins only. Site and nearby facts are marked not computed at this scale.
- Rezoned property, the city's figure: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned city land figure for this measure.
- Planned park land: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned city land figure for this measure.
- Planned public purchase: Not computed at this scale: a single agreement is not a city aggregate.
- Recorded consideration on transfer: Not computed at this scale: transfer consideration is not aggregated at city scale on this site.
- Flood zone intersection: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned city flood-intersection figure.
- Facilities within the radius: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned city facility or permit count.
- Permits within the radius: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned city facility or permit count.
- Council matters with a published roll-call: 146 matters
- Council matters with an exact declared recusal: 1 matters
- County ditch projects in the accepted GIS snapshot: Not computed at this scale: the county engineer's figure is not scoped below the county; nothing joins it to the city.
- County drainage features mapped: Not computed at this scale: the county engineer's figure is not scoped below the county; nothing joins it to the city.
County · County scope reads pinned county briefs only. Facts without a pinned county figure are marked not computed at this scale.
- Rezoned property, the city's figure: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county land figure for this measure.
- Planned park land: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county land figure for this measure.
- Planned public purchase: Not computed at this scale: a single agreement is not a county aggregate.
- Recorded consideration on transfer: Not computed at this scale: transfer consideration is not aggregated at county scale on this site.
- Flood zone intersection: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county flood-intersection figure.
- Facilities within the radius: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county facility or permit count.
- Permits within the radius: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county facility or permit count.
- Council matters with a published roll-call: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county council figure.
- Council matters with an exact declared recusal: Not computed at this scale: there is no pinned county council figure.
- County ditch projects in the accepted GIS snapshot: 115 projects
- County drainage features mapped: 13809 features
Six states, kept separate. An empty stage is a finding, not a gap in the page.
None in archive: no record documents this stage.
None in archive: no record documents this stage.
None in archive: no record documents this stage.
Compare the record at two dates.
The comparison is computed from the dated events above. It shows which registers had evidence at each date. It does not claim continuous coverage between them. A year without a day is placed at the end of that year.
| Register | 2007-12-07 | 2026-09-09 |
|---|---|---|
| Transfers recorded | Conveyance 2007094625 recorded by the county auditor on 2007-12-07 (instrument not… | Conveyance 2007094625 recorded by the county auditor on 2007-12-07 (instrument not…; Conveyance 2022094719 recorded by the county auditor on 2022-10-24 (GENERAL WARRANTY… |
| Decisions passed | None by this date | ORDINANCE NO. 24-143: AN ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO ENTER INTO AN INTERIM…; RESOLUTION NO. 25-182: A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE CITY OF AVON LAKE TO APPLY FOR AND…; ORDINANCE NO. 25-167: AN ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO EXECUTE A REAL ESTATE…; ORDINANCE NO. 26-37: AN ORDINANCE REZONING A 43.23-ACRE SITE AT [street number withheld]…; ORDINANCE NO. 26-36: AN ORDINANCE ENACTING AVON LAKE CODE OF ORDINANCES CHAPTER 1219:… |
| Project stages documented | None by this date | Avon Lake and Power Plant Site Owners Discuss Development Agreement That Includes City… |
| Stage: proposed | Not yet documented | Documented |
| Stage: approved | Not yet documented | Documented |
| Stage: financed | None in archive | None in archive |
| Stage: paid | None in archive | None in archive |
| Stage: delivered | None in archive | None in archive |
Facilities and permits inside the radius, labelled by distance and source.
| Name | Kind | Distance | Location source |
|---|---|---|---|
| PHIL'S SHELL SERVICE | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| Watteredge LLC | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| Unnamed facility frs:110020978307 | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| AVON LAKE POWER PLANT (0247030013) | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | oh_epa_gis_npdes_permits |
| Southwire Avon Lake | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| LIQUID THERAPY | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| AVON LAKE POWER PLANT | Facility | adjacent (shares a boundary) | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| Lubrizol Advanced Materials - Avon Lake | Facility | 3 m | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| LUBRIZOL ADVANCED MATERIALS | Facility | 3 m | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| Ford Motor Co Ohio Assembly Plant | Facility | 31 m | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| AVIENT CORP | Facility | 35 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| MEXICHEM SPECIALTY RESINS INC | Facility | 53 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| ALUMALLOY METALCASTING CO. | Facility | 64 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| ARROW ALUMINUM CASTINGS CO | Facility | 113 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| ALUMALLOY METALCASTING CO. | Facility | 121 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| FORD MOTOR CO - OHIO ASSEMBLY PLANT | Facility | 160 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| HELICAL LINE PRODUCTS COMPANY (0247030987) | Facility | 174 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| CENTRAL TRUST CO | Facility | 203 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| WATTEREDGE LLC | Facility | 207 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| RYKON ACQUISITIONS LLC DBA RYKON PLATING | Facility | 227 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| ERIE INDUSTRIAL SERVICES | Facility | 241 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| AVON LAKE WPCF | Facility | 249 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| Avon Lake WPCF | Facility | 260 m | oh_epa_gis_npdes_permits |
| Unnamed facility pwsid:OH4700311 | Facility | 316 m | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| Avon Lake Regional Water | Facility | 316 m | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| AVON LAKE REGIONAL WATER | Facility | 316 m | lorain_county_gis_parcels |
| Ford Ohio Assembly Plant | Facility | 335 m | oh_epa_gis_npdes_permits |
| WESTVIEW ELEMENTARY SCHOOL | Facility | 344 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| AVON LAKE WATER FILTRATION PLANT | Facility | 368 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| ALERG, LLC | Facility | 463 m | oh_epa_gis_npdes_permits |
| ALERG, LLC | Facility | 463 m | oh_epa_gis_npdes_permits |
| AVON LAKE MARATHON | Facility | 482 m | epa_envirofacts_echo_44012 |
| permit-bd2d465c3f33 | Permit | 106 m | source point; address not shown |
| permit-4aab7ee91390 | Permit | 363 m | source point; address not shown |
| permit-e69028378759 | Permit | 409 m | source point; address not shown |
| permit-e7e1e0a70d9f | Permit | 494 m | source point; address not shown |
Every statement above opens to the record it was read from.
- R11069242 instrument not stated on the auditor record ↗ lorain_county_auditor_property · dated 2007-12-07 · retrieved 2026-07-27
- R13817166 City TIF / development agreement, 2025 (23.22 acres for a public lakefront park) avonlake_city_attested_pin · dated 2025 · retrieved pinned · no public link policy, document identity only
- R13856185 ORDINANCE NO. 25-167: AN ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO EXECUTE A REAL ESTATE PURCHASE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE CITY OF AVON LAKE AND AVON LAKE ENVIRONMENTAL REDEVELOPMENT GROUP, LLC, FOR THE ACQUISI ↗ avon_lake_council_legislation · dated 2025-11-24 · retrieved 2026-07-10
- R14190150 FEMA National Flood Hazard Layer, Lorain County panels (2284 zones) fema_nfhl_flood_maps · dated 2026-07-28 · retrieved 2026-07-28 · no public link policy, document identity only
- R15695302 Avon Lake and Power Plant Site Owners Discuss Development Agreement That Includes City Ownership of 23 Acres of Lakefront Land ↗ avon_lake_press_releases · dated 2024-10-08 · retrieved 2026-07-15
- R2897666 ORDINANCE NO. 26-37: AN ORDINANCE REZONING A 43.23-ACRE SITE AT [street number withheld] LAKE ROAD FROM GENERAL INDUSTRIAL (I-2) AND SINGLE-FAMILY RESIDENCE (R-1A) TO SPECIAL COMMERCE DISTRICT (B-3). ↗ avon_lake_council_legislation · dated 2026-05-18 · retrieved 2026-07-10
- R313266 Attested home-page figure acreage_park_display: 23.22 ac public park avonlake_city_attested_pin · dated undated · retrieved pinned · no public link policy, document identity only
- R366892 RESOLUTION NO. 25-182: A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE CITY OF AVON LAKE TO APPLY FOR AND ADMINISTER A STATE OF OHIO BROWNFIELD REMEDIATION PROGRAM ASSESSMENT GRANT FOR THE FORMER NRG POWER PLANT PROPERT ↗ avon_lake_council_legislation · dated 2025-11-24 · retrieved 2026-07-10
- R460988 GENERAL WARRANTY DEED ↗ lorain_county_auditor_property · dated 2022-10-24 · retrieved 2026-07-27
- R6331989 Lorain County GIS parcel publication, generation 6576935e-be3a-4fb1-a91d-a565d58b7437 ↗ lorain_county_gis_parcels · dated 2026-07-28 · retrieved 2026-07-28
- R728468 ORDINANCE NO. 24-143: AN ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO ENTER INTO AN INTERIM DEVELOPMENT AGREEMENT WITH AVON LAKE ENVIRONMENTAL REDEVELOPMENT GROUP AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY. ↗ avon_lake_council_legislation · dated 2024-11-12 · retrieved 2026-07-10
- R7642512 avonlake.city council brief, pinned figures (council_figures.json, version 1) avonlake_city_pinned_brief · dated 2026-06-08 · retrieved pinned · no public link policy, document identity only
- R8425219 Attested home-page figure acreage_total_display: 43.23 ac total avonlake_city_attested_pin · dated undated · retrieved pinned · no public link policy, document identity only
- R9128318 avonlake.city environment brief, pinned figures (environment_figures.json, version 1) avonlake_city_pinned_brief · dated undated · retrieved pinned · no public link policy, document identity only
- R9174090 ORDINANCE NO. 26-36: AN ORDINANCE ENACTING AVON LAKE CODE OF ORDINANCES CHAPTER 1219: LAKEFRONT MIXED-USE OVERLAY DISTRICT. ↗ avon_lake_council_legislation · dated 2026-05-18 · retrieved 2026-07-10